Caviar Scales…

So I’m not kidding when I say this design took forever, like we’re seriously talking 2 hours plus.

I firstly had to separate the beads by colour. Now I do have a wheel of beads that are already separate but there wasn’t going to be enough of them to do all my nails nor were they the colours that I wanted to use. This task alone took goodness knows how long as  tried not to look at the time as it could have been classed as torture.

Caviar Bead Separation.png

Then it was as simple as applying them in the scale like pattern. However it wasn’t that simple, it took just as long to pick them up and precisely place them. Sometimes they hadn’t stuck, sometimes they pung everywhere and went through several dozen balls of pick-up gel (thank goodness I had that!).

Caviar Bead Scales.png

Caviar Bead Scales 2.png

The sheer frustration of it all was mind numbing and I wholly regretted starting it as the results aren’t even that impressive. As expected my top coat melted the colours of the caviar a little meaning that all but my pinky were top-coated. This resulted in the beads starting to drop off within the hour and by the end of the evening I had taken the whole thing off my nails. *sigh*

Top Coat vs No Top Coat.png

Please head my warning, DO NOT ATTEMPT TO DO THIS AT HOME!

8 thoughts on “Caviar Scales…

  1. Oh wow, all that trouble just to take them off – I feel your pain!

  2. Omg, how you had the patience to even complete it is beyond me!!! And that’s so sad about them falling off 😦

    • Thanks! Yeah, it sort of turned in to torture towards the end and it was even more heartbreaking when they fell off but that’s the way it goes sometimes I suppose!

  3. Holy crow, that looks fantastic! And also fantastically labour-intensive. Amazing work, though.

  4. WOW! I certainly commend you on your patience. I don’t think i could ever do something like this. So well done to you even if you did take them off so quickly.

Leave a Reply

