Mermaid Water Globe…

So I’m afraid this is going to be a design that you’re going to love or hate – water globes are certainly not for everyone.

mermaid-water-globe-nail-art

water-globe-mermaid-nails

I used my trio of homemade polishes called ‘A mermaids life‘ for the base and then added lots of sealife bling, pearls and beads which were all from BornPrettyStore.

To make the orb part, I rolled some ‘picker gel‘ in to a ball and covered it in two layers of gel polish, curing it between each of course. I then carefully picked out the gel and was left with a little hard orb shaped shell.

water globe close-up.JPG

water-globe-nails

I then filled it with my glitter, put some gel nail polish round the rim and stuck it to my nail. I cured that first, and then painted around the sphere more thoroughly to ensure it was leak proof. It was then time to fill the orb with oil, and to do so I drilled a little hole in the top (with a nail drill used to attach dangle charms) and pipette some in! I sealed the hole with some more gel polish, cured it, and that’s all there was to it to be honest. I’d watched some tutorials on Youtube and they had like needles and proper UV sculpting gel or whatever, so even though mines was a little more  fiddly I think it still turned out well.

side view mermaid water globe.JPG

What do you think, do you dig the water globe look? It’s not particularly practical but it’s well stuck down so I doubt it would fall off. I would worry about it popping though as it doesn’t feel incredibly hard.

2 thoughts on “Mermaid Water Globe…

  1. Love it 💙💙💙 Gorgeous

Leave a Reply

