BornPrettyStore: Holographic Glitter Dust

So today I’m reviewing a tub of ‘Holographic Glitter Dust‘ sent to me by BornPrettyStore. The tub comes in a little pouch and with an applicator, but for it to work correctly you’ll also need a non-wipe UV top coat and lamp.

hologlitterdustset

The glitter is so fine to the point where I wasn’t sure if I should be wearing a dust mask – I could actually see the particles floating about in the air. My camera had a really hard time picking up how shiny the glitter is but whilst it’s still in the tub it doesn’t display the typical holo rainbow shine pattern.

AllNeededTools.JPG

veryfinedust

I used my normal base coat, and applied two coats of black polish. I then used my non-wipe UV top coat (which is also from BornPrettyStore), and cured it. My little UV lamp turns off automatically after the full cure time, which is super handy as it means your not sat there testing to see how the gel is getting on. Before I went anywhere near my fingers with the dust, I applied some liquid latex around my nail to help with the clean up. Now it was time to apply the holographic glitter dust!

applieddust

I used the included applicator to apply the dust quite thickly and then used the opposite side to gently buff off the excess. At first it looked like it was working and the dust was adhering, but the more I buffed to achieve a smooth look the more the dust began to come off – eeekk! After having a think as to why this was happening, I wondered if it had anything to do with the gels cure time. If it’s important to use a non-wipe top coat then maybe the gel needs to be slightly tacky still to help the dust stick. So I tried again except this time only cured the top coat for 12 seconds and it worked a dream! The glitter had great coverage and buffed off so much better this time to a nice smooth, shiny finish. I used my UV top coat again to seal the dust in (giving it the full cure time).

uvcuring

hologlitterdust31121

Isn’t it so pretty, you can now definitely  see the holographic rainbow shine pattern! Those black spaces have nothing to do with the dust, it’s actually in relation to where you apply the top-coat so it can stick. I clearly need a little more practice at applying the UV top coat as I’ve missed the edges and the sides quite badly – whoops!

1HoloGlitterDust31121.JPG

I decided to test the holographic glitter dust a little further by adding some nail art and then top-coating it with Seche Vite. This was on top of the gel-cured top coat of course but I was curious to see if it would have any detrimental effect. It didn’t!

lighteningdesign

You can still see the holo rainbow, and trust me in reality the colours are even more amazing! It’s hard to capture the full spectrum in a photo. I’ve never used powders before so I don’t have anything to compare this one to but I do know for sure that it certainly worked. I can’t wait to experiment with it a little further. If you would like to try it out or anything else at BornPrettyStore if you use the code ‘AZYW10’ you’ll get 10% off all full priced items at the checkout.

LighteningHolo.JPG

AZYW10

Leave a Reply

