Shrimp two ways…

So I really didn’t expect to be using my cooked shrimp stamping plate once let alone twice! At the weekend one of my work colleagues had their 50th birthday party, and everyone had to come wearing a silly hat/wig or have crazy hair as she is also a cancer survivor of 10 years. She asked for no birthday presents instead any money that we would have spent on one, was to be offered as a donation – how admirable is that. I chose to wear a shrimp hat, (which I already owned from one of my own fish themed birthday parties), and painted my nails to match of course!

ShrimpHatNails
CookedShrimpNailArt
DSCN0415

4 thoughts on “Shrimp two ways…

  1. Hey how do you get such neat prints from your stamp plates? Mine have been giving me a bit of trouble!

    • Hello! I found it was a combination of several things;
      1) I’d recommend using a stamping polish, I used Konad Black for this. It’s highly pigmented and a little thicker than normal polish. Make sure you put plenty on the plate too.
      2) I never use the first scraped image. I ditch it, clean the plate and stamper with acetone and use the second/third scraped one. For some reason the first one never seems to come out well. It’s as if the plate needs warmed up or something.
      3) Practice! It took me a while to get my co-ordination between applying polish, scraping off, smoodging my stamper on to it and then transferring the image on to my nails. If you take too long the image dries up.
      4) Sometimes it is the plates engraving that can cause issues, so think about using a different plate or brand if you’re getting really disheartened.

      Hope all those tips help! 😀

      • Thanks heaps for your suggestions. I am picking up the image nice and clear now on my stamper 🙂 the colours don’t transfer well though onto my nail so I think I will have to get some konad

      • Glad I was able to help!
        I buy mine from BornPrettyStore. It’s free shipping but does take like a month to get here. They’re on sale just now too, but still a little more than your average bottle of polish. BPS’s own brand are not bad either which are cheaper, but I think with stamping polish you get what you pay for. Good luck! 😀

Leave a Reply

