BornPrettyStore: Holographic Nail Foil…

So today I’m reviewing a sheet of ‘Holographic Nail Foil‘ in pattern 1003 from BornPrettyStore. It comes in a little packet and contains 30cm of the stuff, I was a bit concerned about it being folded – most nail foil is rolled – but actually it had no affect on the products performance. It has some lovely colours but the ones displayed depends on the angle the light hits it at, how fun!

Holographic Foil Packaging
Holographic Foil Sheet.JPG
Holographic Foil Detail

I first of all decided to test the foil out on a lighter colour, so I chose a base of ‘Amazing Gracie’ by Ciate. I used ‘Rio’ nail foil glue, which unfortuately applies a little streaky, so the marks you see has nothing to do with the foil itself which applied very well. I didn’t have to rub too hard to coax it off the backing, it pretty much came off itself and without any patchiness. I think the fact the foil has a broken up pattern made any potential transfer faults hard to see anyway. It looked brilliant, so I top coated it with Seche Vite and applied another layer of foil and top coat. That’s where it all went wrong for the foil – the Seche Vite melted it! ARGH!

AmazingGracieHoloFoilCollage

It still turned out really pretty, it’s just a shame that the top coat I have melts this particular foil. It hasn’t melted previous foils from BornPrettyStore, so I thought I was safe. I found out from SweetberryNails over on Instagram that ‘Picture Polish Revolution’, ‘Rimmel Finishing Touch’ and ‘Sally Hansen Miracle Top Coats’ may be foil safe but I think it’s still a case of trial and error guys, sorry!

Two Coats Holographic Foil (2)

Next, I applied the holographic foil on to a darker colour. This time a Revlon, which is that well loved (old) it’s name has rubbed off, whoops. How cool does it look! (Again please excuse the streaks, this has nothing to do with the foil just the application of the foil glue.)

ThumbFoilGIF

I’m not sure if I would personally describe it as holographic as it’s probably more in the iridescent category to me, but if I’m being honest I’m not sure what the difference between the two is – can someone please enlighten me?

One Coat Holo Foil.JPG

So again, I repeated the test like all good scientists should. I applied my top coat, and foiled a second time and it looked good…

Two Coats Holo Foil

…until the second coat of Seche Vite and it all started to melt again. When I say melt, it’s not melting off my hands or anything, I just mean that the shapes and colours are all losing their form and melting in to each other. Still pretty though right?

TopCoat Melt

I think you can see some of the original shapes on my thumb more clearly, however the difference between top-coated and un-sealed is very noticeable.

TopCoatMeltingThumb

Which do you prefer – light base or dark base? Stay tuned, as on Friday I’ll be revealing the nail art I painted on top of the dark test.

Lets do a product recap!
The foil applies really nicely – it doesn’t take a lot of effort to apply and applies without patchiness.
Top coating this foil is a must, however I think it could be a game of trial and error to find one that won’t melt it – it looks cool either way though!

If you fancy adding this foil to your collection of nail art supplies, you can use my code AZYW10 to recieve 10% off all full priced items in your basket at BornPrettyStore.

AZYW10

5 thoughts on “BornPrettyStore: Holographic Nail Foil…

  1. Lovely post! Love the design you’ve created using the nail foil! 💕

  2. Pingback: Melted Galaxy… | WonderfulWolf

  3. Cool!! What a nuisance that the top coat dissolved the foil…always a hazard with that!

Leave a Reply

