Monday (re)Make…

So my gran was getting rid of this little footstool, because let’s be honest here, it was pretty disgusting. However, I liked it’s little feet so  I asked her if I could take it away and try to give it a new life – she of course agreed being from the ‘make-do and mend’ generation and for a while it sat in my cupboard whilst I mulled over what I was going to do with it. And how, as I’ve never re-upholstered anything before.

I figured the first step would be to strip it down to see what would be left for me to work with. I used pliers to remove the staples, which was how the material was attached to the base. After seeing the state of the foam and fabric I kind of wished I’d been wearing a dusk-mask… The original foam certainly needed replacing too, and I was surprised at how thin the base was, it was just plywood.


I headed to my local Hobbycraft and picked out a lovely fresh fabric. (Upon reflection, cream maybe wasn’t the best of colours to pick for a footstool. Even though I wear slippers in the house it’s still bound to get visibly dirty after a while.) As it was a flat fabric, opposed to a fluffy fabric, I realised it wouldn’t hide the staples so I chose some fun trims to cover them up. Now that I had my fabric, it was time to pick out a colour for the feet and I chose a Rust-oleum furniture paint called ‘Pumpkin’ – isn’t it punchy!

paintingfeet

I’ve never worked with chalk paint and to be honest it was a bit of a pain. It dried super quick meaning it dragged if you accidentally double stroked, and the details in the feet made it even trickier to use. I eventually got there, after three coats but unfortunately there was a lot of brush marks. They could probably be sanded out using a very fine sandpaper but I felt it wasn’t worth the time. I next sized up the piece of foam I bought from Dunelm, cut it out and glue-gunned it on to the base.

sizingfoam.JPG

I knew to get a smooth finish on the stool, the fabric needed to be wrapped tightly onto the foam but I had a few problems trying to do this. I just couldn’t figure out how to keep it tight and in place whilst I tried to hold and staple it. I needed more hands! I don’t mean to be a bad workman blaming his tools here, but also my staple gun was £10 out of Hobbycraft – it’s not technically a ‘real’ staple gun. (It can seriously be turned in to a desk stapler, it came with the attachment…) It often half-heatedly smooshed several staples in at once meaning the fabric wasn’t actually tacked down. I got there though, all be it roughly!

materialstapled

Next was to hide the hideous staple job after I tidied up the edges a little more than in the above picture. I used pom-pom trims that I glue-gunned into position without any problems, thank goodness.


And viola! It was done. I love it. I think it’s so cute, and fresh and it’s just the right height for when I’m sitting at my desk to prop my feet up on – not too high, not too low. It’s good to know that if I get bored with it in the future, I can easily change it! Have you ever completed a project like this before?

finished stool

6 comments

Leave a Reply

