Purple Centaurea…

So I attended Gardening Scotland with my mum today, and it was wonderful! The weather was fantastic (I’m sunburned even though I had lotion on), the food was good (especially the fresh oysters) and there was a great selection of exhibitors (I came back with loads of stuff).

One of the plants my mum was trying to hunt down was ‘Centaurea’, it’s like a thistle but with no jaggy bits, and a little bit more ornamental. So the flower that I painted on my nails, is a Centaurea!…
But now it’s confession time, I tried to paint a thistle as it’s part of the Gardening Scotland logo however it just didn’t turn out as I’ve got the proportions all wrong. Top tip – always use a picture for source material. Weird how they kind of look so similar though right? Am I pulling it off?…

ThistleNailArt
Ridiculously, my mum only bought 2 Centaurea plants after wanting them so much. Fortunately they’re self-spreaders if they’re allowed to seed. The only plants I came back with were a mini-orchid, 3 bunny tail grasses and 3 ladybird poppy plants, the rest was all food stuffs or garden ornaments!

Leave a Reply

