Porco Rosso Cross Stitch…

So I’ve been working on this bad boy for ages, and he’s finally finished! It’s a (belated) Christmas present for my boyfriend as Porco Rosso is his favourite Studio Ghibli character.

PorcoRossoCrossStitchHung
I had previously cross stitched some Totoros for his birthday in 2014 using patterns found on pintrest, however I thought I’d give Porco a go free-hand! I used this picture as a reference, and you can definitely see it’s influence, but when it comes to the actual cross-stitch pattern – that’s all me and I am so proud of that as it was bloody hard work, hence why it took me so long. The most daunting part of it was where/how to start. I deemed that his glasses and nose, somewhere central, was probably the best place to start so I sketched it out.

PorcoRosso1
Fortunately Porco Rosso has a pretty symmetrical face, so once I’d stitched one side I basically had to flip it and repeat, it definitely worked.

PorcoRosso2
PorcoRosso3
Once I had my ‘starting point’ done with, I sketched out the rest of his face and just went from there. Why I did it in pen I do not know, the lesson learned for next time is to draw lightly in pencil. As I didn’t wash  my cross stitch before I hooped it, you can unfortunately see some pen marks underneath the lighter threads, but shhhh!

PorcoRosso4
I took work in progress photos at various stages, and it was really interesting to see how my design changed throughout the process. When I was flipping through them whilst editing, I thought it would make for a pretty interesting video;

The style of hoop had to be changed when I decided that I was going to go ‘mixed-media’, and felt the background colour instead of stitching it. I think it adds a little more interest and texture but I’m not sure how purists would feel.  Do you like the mix of felt and stitching?

PorcoRossoCrossStitchFinished1

2 thoughts on “Porco Rosso Cross Stitch…

  1. He looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

