Happy Birthday to… me!

So it’s my birthday. Yes it’s the 13th and yes it’s a Friday but don’t worry I can safely say nothing bad happened so don’t panic. We decided to go through to Glasgow (even though the weather was absolutely ganting) for some sushi, shopping and a film. I just had to paint some sushi on my nails; I’ve never actually painted a sushi design before which is rather unbelievable if you know how much I love sushi! I chose Sake Nigiri: a firm favourite, and Sake Avocado Maki: a safe favourite. (I do get more adventurous – I love a seabass nigiri, mackerel nigiri, fish roe, and forever on, but I chose those two mainly because they were the easiest to paint!)

SushiNailArt
We visited Yo!Sushi for a light lunch. I like Yo!Sushi but it is a little bit over priced and the sushi on offer is of normal variety – don’t get me wrong it’s still super tasty and fresh and I visit regularly but. I did the typical cheesy ‘I’ve got sushi on my nails and I’m eating sushi ahahahaha’ picture to which my boyfriend looked super unimpressed with, whoops! I’m honestly not one of those food photo sharers on Instagram.

Yo!SushiNailARt
I  managed to hit up my two favourite shops, Paperchase and Hotel Chocolate, but also the new Model’s Own BottleShop that’s opened in Buchanan Galleries. They’ve changed their offer of 5 for £20 for the better as you can now get 6 for £20 due to them running a 3 for 2 (polishes are £5 each so technically you get a better saving and you feel less inclined to buy more and can just stop at a tenner, instead of going all the way up to £20’s worth). I also just HAD to get it – yup a Nails Inc Paint Can. I just couldn’t resist it regardless of how much of a ‘fad’ it is or how expensive it is (£10 a tin), etc etc but it will be so much fun!

GlasgowBottleShop
SmallNailHaul
After shopping and the film (I’m a little embarrassed to say we went to see paranormal activity and I jumped a lot…) we went to Nanakusa. Without sounding like a right food snob, it was the proper Japanese Sushi restaurant of our trip. They do sell seabass, mackerel, urchin etc at this place and authentic Japanese cuisine (or atleast as authentic as you can probably get for being in Scotland). For the first time ever I tried Sake – I’ve always been too scared to try it in-case I a) don’t like it and b) end up absolutely off my face on it, so thought a cocktail was a safe bet. I had a ‘Yuzu Drop’ and it was delicious but not for those who dislike sweet drinks as it has a big dod of yuzu jam in it. I would have loved to have taken a photo, but yeah remember the disappointing boyfriend look and the earlier I’m not a food photo sharer quote…

13 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to… me!

  1. That sounds so nice! And yummy, too, although I’m SUCH a sushi wuss – white tuna belly makes the world go round, though. 🙂 And a happy birthday to you! I’m a 13th birthday as well – the Friday thing is bound to happen eventually. 😉

    • Haha yaaay go us, and thank you! 😀 I’ve never had tuna belly but looking at the google images it looks delicious! It’s only ever sliced ‘albacore’ and ‘yellowfin’ over here.

      • See, yellowfin is just a little too fishy for me. Tuna belly is like the wussy person’s raw fish sushi! But holy crow, it’s good – like butter. Otherwise, I’m Team Tempura all the way – what’s not to love about deep fried bits in your sushi? Hope you had a nice birthday!

      • Mmmm, that sounds delicious! I’ll maybe have to find a ‘proper’ sushi restaurant down in London next time I visit, I bet they’d have it. Thanks again 😀

  2. Happy birthday! So, what is this paint can thing? I must be out of the loop, or else it hasn’t made its way to ‘Merica yet. I’m probably just out of the loop.

    • I think it’s only out in the Uk just now so don’t worry about it!
      It’s basically spray paint nail varnish. You spray it all over your nails etc, top coat them, then wash your hands. The polish comes off your fingers but stays on your nails. Sounds ridiculously messy and unnecessary, but I need to try it out!

  3. HAPPPYYYY BIRTHDDAAAAYYYYYY!
    I love all your nails designs, they are so cute!!!
    Xx

  4. Happy happy birthday!!! ❤

Leave a Reply

