A New Adventure, Essential Nails…

So I’ve decided to start a new adventure by taking a nail art course with ‘Essential Nails’. It’s a learn at home course meaning you can take as much time as you need, allowing you to practice as much as you want. Also if you think about it you can do the course in between housework, your job, etc, and you could even do it in your pajamas and no one would know – fantastic. The kit that arrives contains all the tools, paints and polish you’ll need to create and submit your designs as well as a ‘Nail Trainer’ (the creepy looking hand with removable fingertips and nails).

EssentialNailTrainer
Today I started off with design one named ‘Simple Flowers’, and I did a whole heap of them.

Design1'SimpleFlower'
I Β learned;
– You definitely have to wait for the paint to dry before you top coat it.
– I need to be more conscious of where I place my own hand, the amount of times I touched the tacky polish and left paw prints! It’s so different painting someone else’s compared to your own nails.
– When do you stop practicing? To me, none of the above nails are ‘perfect’ so I wouldn’t submit any of them in fear of losing too many marks and ‘failing’. But thinking about it afterwards, just how perfect do they want them? I mean they are done by human hand, am I being too critical. Some are disasters, but some are fine so do I submit the one I deem the ‘best’? They only want one nail submitted, so it’s not about design consistency as you can see, just a really well executed design. Maybe as I get more comfortable with the tools and ‘lessons’ I’ll settle a bit and gain a better understanding of what’s expected. I suppose this is one drawback of doing an at home course, there’s no real time feedback.

5 thoughts on “A New Adventure, Essential Nails…

  1. Woah, that bionic hand is freaking me the crap out, man. I’m not sure I could sleep with that thing in my house!

    Having said that, that sounds like a pretty cool system, although feedback is pretty crucial – it’s why we humans do most things, after all. Still, you’re right, it’s super hard to do other people’s nails – I get asked to by my friends and family sometimes and it always so much more difficult than doing my own, when you’d think it would be easier. Bah.

    • Yeah! I mean when you’re painting someone else’s you’re actually seeing it the right way up and stuff, but nooo…
      Fortunately the hand is no where near the bedroom. And I’ll admit it, we are sometimes a little immature with it and make it do naughty hand gestures or hold notes for each other and stuff.

  2. Ugh, it’s. It’s always so much more difficult.

  3. Pingback: Essential Nails Design #2… | WonderfulWolf

Leave a Reply

