You’re a star!

So after seeing the unfortunate ‘nail fail’ (she said this herself, just in case you think I’m throwing some shade) that Flight of Whimsy had with her nail vinyls from BornPrettyStore, I was seriously worried. Eva experienced seepage and disintegration, and as I’ve never used nail vinyls before, if they didn’t work for me how would I have known if it was my fault or theirs!

However, I think mines worked quite well? I mean my index finger was a flop, but that was down to me choosing the wrong glitter to start with duuhh…

StarVinylsNailArt
The pack includes two designs (my choice was stars and leopard prints), but only 5 vinyls each. I thought this was a bit strange as the majority of us all have 10 fingers, but after sizing them up it became apparent I could half them. I understand that some people might have massive nails, in which case you’d maybe have to recycle or buy two packets? If you have smaller nails, I would wonder how much star pattern you could really fit on there as it’s kinda large, it’s maybe not the pattern for you unfortunately.

SizingUpTheVinyls
They applied well but I always make sure with anything sticky to actually un-sticky it a bit to prevent it from pulling up my base coat – I do this by applying it to somewhere on my skin first. I chose to use a sponge to apply my polishes, firstly gold and then a glitter, instead of an all over paint as sponging is less likely to result in seepage. The one issue I did have was the the vinyl wouldn’t sit flat, I have very curved nails, so I had to snip them a little bit which did end up distorting some of the star shapes.

SpongeApplicationVinyl
I think over-all my adventure in to nail vinyl usage was a success. Maybe I had more luck because my pattern wasn’t as intricate as a checkerboard and therefore peeling it off my nail was less of a hassle. I think next time I’m going to try out the leopard print, and I’ll hopefully chose a better colour combination. If you’d like to try them out for yourself, remember to use my code ‘AZYW10’ to get 10% off all full priced items in your order.

Leave a Reply

