Plant Stand ‘Upcycling’…

So something a little different for today’s post. I enjoy attending auctions and having a daunder round second hand furniture stores. A few weeks ago (more realistically a few months now) I picked up a rickety, nasty looking plant stand which I felt had a certain charm to it – it’s super thin top and wonky leg was just instantly appealing to me. I bought it for £8 from a second hand, house clearance sort of ‘shop’.

Comparison

To begin with I sanded it down as it was covered in horrible stains, and varnish that was flaking off everywhere – it was giving me the heebies as to how dirty it looked and felt.

1 Table Original
2 Table Sanded
Then I primed it and painted it, and to be honest, I thought it already looked much better in plain white!

3 Table Primed Painted
Me being myself though, I couldn’t leave plain. I could have went for the whole ‘shabby chic’ thing of sanding down corners to rough it up but if I’m being brutally honest, I think people go too far with it and it ends up looking ‘shabby shite’, I’ve just never been in to that look really. Therefore I went with decoupage. (In case you’re unfamiliar with it, it’s basically sticking bits of paper on to things) I picked up stamp patterned paper from HobbyCraft, it was £3.50 (roughly) and there was a 3 for 2 offer, the others were used on a yet to be revealed make-over, along with some glue and brushes. I think the total for it all was around £15. The reason I picked stamps was because I have a whole stamp stash at home that I don’t really use for anything (apart from occasional nail art) so I had the idea to add a few of my favourites on top to personalize it even further.

4 Table Finished
7 Table Top
6 Side View
8 Table Outside

What do yous think? I understand that it may not to be to everyone’s taste but it is to mine and that’s all that matters. for a combined material cost of £23, plus my own personal effort, I think it was totally worth it. It now lives in our hall, as a resting place for my car keys and sports bottle for work, even with it’s wonky leg it does a wonderful job. I hope it’s happy with it’s new life and look.

3 thoughts on “Plant Stand ‘Upcycling’…

  1. You did a great job!! The table looks lovely after you tastefully decorated it and sealed it!! To me, it looks so neat and interesting. I admire your carry-through from idea to finished product. (Not everyone is like that….)

Leave a Reply

