Roses are red, Tomatoes are too…

So I like to grow my own vegetables. Unfortunately the ‘garden’ in our house is actually all decking, therefore I have to use a trough, pots and those ‘pop-up greenhouses’. I was so excited to get back to growing (after a two year break) that I went a little over board and over packed my ‘greenhouse’. Due to the lack of correct ventilation and a wet summer, it resulted in a massive leaf mould problem on everything in there. I was reduced to only two cropping tomato plants. But hey, they still cropped! (I also got other things from my garden such as a whole load of strawberries, blueberries, tayberries, herbs, onions, chard, spinach, kale, lettuce and even a few cucumbers.)

TomatoWaterDecals
TomatoHarvest
Having tomatoes on my nails tickled me a little, I mean who really wears tomato nail art? What tickled me even more was the fact I think they look like little roses from a distance. The tomatoes are actually water decals from BornPrettyStore. You’re probably sick of hearing me bleat the same thing all the time, but they were honestly great to use. Peppers, peas, carrots and cauliflowers are also included on the sheet, which just makes it even stranger. Again who’s really wanting to have vegetables on their nails? (Especially cauliflower, boke.) If you happen to be one of those people that do, you can use my code ‘AZYW10’ to get 10% off all full priced items in your order.

TomatoPlant

14 thoughts on “Roses are red, Tomatoes are too…

  1. Well I think I am somebody who would wear vegetables on the nails. Also I love to do a little gardening, but we had a very bad halestorm that brought the dead to my tomatoes… Sniff… Lovely design as usually!

    • Thank you! It’s good to know there’s other strange people out there who would like to wear vegetables on their nails 😀
      I’m sorry for your tomatoes. It’s been a really bad year for growing in general.

  2. I love this sooo much 😀 My Tomatoes have been rubbish this year too 😦 had an attack of the dreaded blight ugh!

    • Oh no! At first that’s what I thought I had as my plants were moldy and things, but then with blight I’m under the impression that the fruit are affected too? Which mine weren’t. Although I’m still suspicious of blight as my cucumber plants and watermelons ended up with moldy leaves too. Who knows – I ain’t no expert. I do know for sure, my ‘greenhouse’ wasn’t ventilated well enough and the weather was pants!

      • Yeah, it’s such a pain 😦 I really hope next year is going to be better!

      • So do I! I (stupidly) tried to grow sweetcorn and pumpkins, they turned out a joke. I’m also not growing watermelons again – I’ve admitted to myself now that Scottish weather probably just won’t do them but I wanted to try because I like watermelon so much. Think I’ll just stick to tatties, peppers, flowers, berries and herbs haha!

      • Oh no! My pumpkins where rubbish too. My Sweetcorn was one of the few things that grew well for me this year and I do have one miserable looking squash plant that’s still hanging on lol, Ooh have you tried growing purple potatoes? They are amazing! 😀

      • No I haven’t but I do love a weird veg! I’d went for black cherry tomatoes and tigerella but we know how the story ends with them. I also tried cucamelons, colourful callaloo, crystal apple cucumbers and black kale. (Callaloo, cucumbers and Kale worked, cucamelons were a flop…) I’ll have to keep my eye out for purple tomatoes next year, if I return to tomato growing… 😦

      • Oh you should! The ones I grew are called Salad Blue, they make the most amazing purple mash! 😀 I tried to grow my favorite tiny tomatoes Currant Sweet Pea, they are really tiny about 1cm, Brandywine and Yellow Plum. Oh my Cucamelons where rubbish too, that was definitely down to the crap weather, last year they where amazing, I had hundreds of little mouse melons 🙂 Oh I have just been looking at interesting seeds for next year… Artisan Purple Bumblebee Tomatoes! I want those just for the name lol 🙂

      • Oh my goodness, you have opened my eyes to some wonderful varieties with such fantastic names! The tiny toms sounds so cute. One question about the Cucamelons, do you keep your plant or just re-plant seeds next year?

      • Hehe! 😀 Oh there is one tomato variety that I really want to try growing but I can’t find seeds anywhere 😦 it’s called Kirschklumpen, and the fruit grows like a fused bunch of grapes lol. With your Cucamelon I don’t think there would be any harm in trying to keep it going over the winter, I’m not 100% on this but I think it would have to be indoors, somewhere warm and bright. I would probably trim it back so it’s a little easier to move and look after. But then if it doesn’t work you can always plant more seeds 🙂

      • That sounds amazing! I bet the seeds would be super expensive too. I get so bored of the ‘usual’ varieties that regular garden centers sell. P.S Thanks for veg nerding out with me!

      • Yeah they are 😦 I found some on ebay last night, and including postage it’s around £3.50 for 5 seeds oO Oooh thinking of ebay… Have you come across a shop on there called Premier Seeds Direct? I get a lot of really interesting things from them 😀 Hehe any time lovely!

      • No I haven’t but they look great.I’ve only ever bought seeds and plants from stores just because I’m a worrier. They seem like a good shop though! Thanks again for the tips 😀

Leave a Reply

