OMD3 – Day 27 Wings…

So I immediately knew what I was going to do for the prompt ‘wings’. I have a little pond in my back garden and last month it attracted a beautiful red dragonfly. I was blown away by the intricacy of it’s wings and it stayed long enough (on my washing that was outside) for me to get a photo.

OMD3 - Day27 Wings
Dragonfly
I created the wings by drawing an outline on some paper, placing some thin acetate on top of it and then painted my nail polish on top. I made sure to apply my top coat, Seche Vite, quite thickly. Once dried, I carefully peeled the wings off. As you can see they did leave some black behind where I hadn’t covered it enough top coat, however I trimmed the outlines anyway to make them appear more delicate.

Wingmaking1
wingmaking3
It totally works right! I can’t stop looking at them and, as wholly impractical as they are, I don’t want to take them off!

DragonflyonGrass
Dragonfly NailArt
Dragonflyflying
DragonflyNailArtSideView

19 thoughts on “OMD3 – Day 27 Wings…

  1. These are amazing! That is really clever, I’d love to see you do some butterfly wings this way.

  2. DUDE. DUDE. Ok this is insane. I saw the photo in the linkup and I figured it was a 3D decal or something that you bought. Well done!
    …these are definitely more “dragonfly” than mine are!

  3. Wow! These are amazing! Really pretty

  4. Ehm….wow! It’s a wonderful idea!!!! Bravissima!

  5. Wow that is really cool!

  6. Pingback: Summer contest: HOPE (nail polish 3d butterfly) | AnnaTì

  7. Pingback: Mani Swap with Dani… | WonderfulWolf

Leave a Reply

