OMD3 – Day 14 Fish…

So for this prompt I went for JellyFISH. Still counts right, even though they’re technically not fish? I’ve previously hand painted some Jellyfish, but for this design I chose to use some BornPrettyStore Jellyfish Water Decals* and they did not disappoint!

OMD3 Day14 Fish
I chose to use them in a ‘pond mani’ meaning I applied a decal, layered glitter polish on top, top coated it all and then repeated a few times to give the effect of depth. The pictures do make it look a little flat but trust me, in reality it looks super cool.

Jellyfish Closeup2
The decals gave me a little bit of a shock at first when they arrived – it looked like they’d forgotten to put the decals on the sheet or something, but then I remember they were white! White on white could be an issue but fortunately you can see them if you turn the sheet towards the light as the decals shine differently, meaning you can chose what shapes you want to use.  Once the decals have been in the water they actually get easier to see meaning you will always pick up the design you want anyway.

CoralWaterDecal
DecalsinWater
Fortunately BornPrettyStore decals are super easy to use (so I’d ignore the strangely translated instructions on the back); you just cut round the desired decal, submerge it in water for around 10 seconds, slide it off the backing paper, apply it to your nail and then gently dab away any excess water. Always top coat it to seal it onto your nail of-course.

BPS WaterDecal Instructions
If you look closely you’ll see that for the first layer of jellyfish have short tentacles which is how the decals actually are. For the second and third layers I painted some tentacles on to them to add extra interest – it works really well don’t you think!

JellyFish Close up1
I’m so impressed with the sheet of water decals – it includes coral, starfish, seahorses, ‘beach’ words, shells and jellyfish meaning it’s a very versatile sheet to have! Expect to see me using them again. If you fancy adding these decals to your nail stash or anything else from BornPrettyStore you can use my code ‘AZYW10’ to get 10% off all full priced items.

Author: WonderfulWolf

Crafter. Nail Painter. Dinosaur Wrangler. 26, Left-Handed, Scottish.

Leave a comment