MiniManiMonth Chinchilla with Twinkle Toes…

So ‘Chinchilla’ is a really nice grey, blue. However, I can’t tell if it makes my hands look older. (If a polish can do such a thing, I have been a little lax on my moisturizing lately so it could be that too…) ‘Twinkle Toes’ is a loose silver glitter, which of course created a terrible mess, and didn’t photograph well. That’s not to say it’s disappointing, as it’s lovely and sparkly in reality just too messy for regular wearing. My striping tape has also arrived so expect plenty more straight line designs!

Chinchilla Twinkle Toes

4 thoughts on “MiniManiMonth Chinchilla with Twinkle Toes…

  1. Doesn’t scotch tape give a good border for the loose glitter, or not?

    • Well yes and no. I painted in between my striping tape (as it’s quite thin) with top coat to help the glitter stick but I think it dried too fast in some places etc – that’s why it looks a bit patchy and wobbly in places but at other points I think it worked quite well.

  2. The combo of that color polish and the reflective light on the glitter is just great! Is the polish one of the new “fast-drying” kinds? Maybe you can’t use the fast drying with decorations, tiny particles of glitter to larger “alloys.”
    I think with the thickness of the glitter path and the thickness of striping tape, you are better off using scotch tape in “as wide as will fit well” dimension, and don’t forget to press it on well. Also, use a tiny spoon or flat slab (I forget what it is called) to gently place the glitter where you want it to be.
    (Anyone not into nail art would not notice any imperfections since the color combo and the intrigue of glitter looks unusual and attractive which is what people focus on.)
    Did you use glue or polish to hold the glitter in place?
    You created an especially attractive look, I think.

    • Thanks very much, I used polish but on looking at the results I should have maybe used glue as I do have some, and the polish obviously dried quite quick. I also didn’t shake the glitter on to them, I actually pressed my nail into the glitter which maybe was the wrong technique to use. I definitely should get myself some scotch tape!

Leave a Reply

