Totoro, totoro…

So I love Studio Ghibli films – I like how they’re style and animation, I like the stories and I like that they usually have a message. My boyfriend also likes the films, so for his birthday I crafted 3 cross stitches for him. Oh-Toroto, Chuu-Totoro and Chibi-Totoro from ‘My Neighbour Totoro’!

I ‘tweeted’ pictures of them on Tuesday, but felt I had to post about them to clear up where I got the patterns. I searched ‘Cross Stitch Totoro’ on Pinterest – I can’t seem to link it at the moment without it stuffing up but I’d like you to search it to compare! So for Chibi-Totoro I basically out-right copied the pattern I found there except I removed the bag (after I stitched it, you can see the scars…) For Chuu-Totoro I kinda followed the pattern except I added another arm, removed his legs and made him rounder. And for Oh-Totoro it was more free hand, I took inspiration from a pattern but then just winged it after I realized he wasn’t going to be big enough compared to the others. It was a nightmare, there was so much unpicking and changing, and he still should be taller! I hadn’t realised you could actually sketch on the Aida until after I’d stitched him, duuh. (I stitched them in order of Chibi, Oh then Chuu).

Over-all I did love it! I’d cross stitch again, I’m just not sure what! (Also do you like seeing my craft projects or should I just stick to posting about nails?)

Totoro Cross Stitch

Leave a Reply

